A Statement from TJ Thomson about difficult decisions

It is a shame that we have been diverted in this race from talking about the issues that will affect the citizens of Boise in the years ahead. Below is my statement about a relationship I had in college, something that is public knowledge and I have always been very open about, but is taking away from our debate on the issues and I wanted to set the record straight.

About 12 years ago, while in college I was in a serious relationship and we had a child. Abortion was never an option and child support was always paid. I commend the mother today for her decision to choose the gift of life, as I did then.

I was 21 years of age at the time. The mother & I mutually agreed that, as I understood that she was in the planning stages of a wedding, the best option would be to allow the child to be raised in a strong two-parent household, therefore we proceeded with action similar to adoption. I was raised in a single-parent household, and understand how tough that can be for both the kids and the parent to be torn back-and-forth. Therefore, with the best interests of the child in mind, over a decade ago, that was the decision we made together.

After many years passing, gaining wisdom and perspective since then, not a day goes by that I don’t reflect on this part of my life. I believe this was the most difficult decision of my life, but I believe it was the right decision for the child. Serving on the Boise City Council will involve difficult decisions and I am prepared to make difficult decisions in the best interest of the citizens of Boise as a result of my many life experiences.

Leave a comment